“Le Brussels Philharmonic, sous la direction énergique et colorée de Karen Durgaryan, a brillé de mille feux”
- crescendo magazine

Born in Yerevan, Armenia, Karen Durgaryan has been the Principal Conductor of the Armenian National State Opera and Ballet Theatre between 2001 and 2015. Durgaryan graduated from the Yerevan State Conservatory in 1996 and has studied with Ilya Mousin at the Saint Petersburg Conservatory in 1997. In 1995 he was appointed an Associate Conductor of the Armenian State Philharmonic Orchestra and the following year has been the Music Director of the Britten and Armenia International Music Festival in Yerevan.

Karen Durgaryan regularly conducts the best opera houses in Russia: since 2008 he is regularly a guest of the Mikhailovsky Theatre in St. Petersburg and on tour; he has appeared often at the Mariinsky Theatre, St. Petersburg, where he has conducted the new production of the ballet Spartacus, which he still regularly conducts both in St. Petersburg and on tour. He was invited again for the White Nights Festival 2013, celebrating the opening of the new Mariinsky Two and the 60th birthday of Maestro Valery Gergiev. He regularly appears at the Novosibirsk State Opera and Ballet Theatre both at home and on tour conducting both, opera and ballet productions.

Karen Durgaryan has conducted at the Leipzig Opera, at the Opéra National de Lyon and in December 2016 made his debut at the Bayerische Staatsoper conducting a new production of Spartacus by Aram Khachaturian. With the Royal Ballet of Flanders and Brussels Philharmonic, he has also presented the same production in January 2017. In February 2018 Karen Durgaryan made his first appearance with the Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra conducting two special ballet gala programs featuring the Ballet of Armenia.

Since 2000 Karen Durgaryan has conducted major performances of Lebanese diva Fairuz, the greatest singer of Arabic world at numerous festivals and concert halls around the world. The CD ‘Fairuz Live at the Beiteddine 2000’ produced by Ziad Rahbani with the EMI got the highest international acclaim.

Karen Durgaryan holds the title of Honored Artist of Republic of Armenia and in 2010 was awarded with the highest medal of Armenia in the field of art and culture.

“Le Brussels Philharmonic, sous la direction énergique et colorée de Karen Durgaryan, a brillé de mille feux”
- crescendo magazine

Né à Erevan, en Arménie, Karen Durgaryan a été chef d’orchestre principal du théâtre national académique arménien d’opéra et de ballet entre 2001 et 2015. Il a obtenu son diplôme du Conservatoire musical d’État d’Erevan en 1996 et a étudié avec Ilya Mousin au Conservatoire de Saint-Pétersbourg en 1997. Il a été nommé chef d’orchestre associé de l’Orchestre philharmonique d’Arménie en 1995 et directeur musical du Festival musical international Britten and Armenia d’Erevan l’année suivante.

Karen Durgaryan dirige régulièrement les meilleurs opéras de Russie : il est depuis 2008 régulièrement invité au Théâtre Michel à Saint-Pétersbourg et en tournée. Il a par ailleurs fait de nombreuses apparitions au Théâtre Mariinsky de Saint-Pétersbourg, où il a dirigé la nouvelle production du ballet « Spartacus », qu’il dirige encore régulièrement à Saint-Pétersbourg et en tournée. Il a de nouveau été invité lors du Festival des Nuits blanches, en 2013, à l’occasion de l’ouverture du nouveau Mariinsky II et du soixantième anniversaire du maestro Valeri Guerguiev. Il dirige régulièrement des opéras et des ballets au Théâtre d’opéra et de ballet de Novossibirsk, sur place comme en tournée.

Karen Durgaryan a été chef d’orchestre à l’Opéra de Leipzig, à l’Opéra National de Lyon et, pour la première fois, au Bayerische Staatsoper en décembre 2016 pour diriger une nouvelle production de « Spartacus » d’Aram Khachaturian. Il a également présenté cette production en janvier 2017 avec le Ballet royal de Flandre et le Brussels Philharmonic. En février 2018, Karen Durgaryan s’est produit pour la première fois avec l’Orchestre philharmonique de Malaisie pour la direction de deux programmes de gala de ballet spéciaux avec le Ballet d’Arménie.

À partir de 2000, il a dirigé des représentations majeures de la diva libanaise Fairuz, la plus grande chanteuse du monde arabe, lors de nombreux festivals et concerts dans le monde entier. Le CD « Fairuz Live at the Beiteddine 2000 », produit par Ziad Rahbani avec EMI, a été très applaudi au niveau international.

Karen Durgaryan a reçu le titre d’artiste émérite de la République d’Arménie, ainsi que la médaille la plus prestigieuse d’Arménie pour l’art et la culture en 2010.