Alexander Toradze is universally recognized as a masterful virtuoso in the grand Romantic tradition. He has enriched the Great Russian pianistic heritage with his own unorthodox interpretative conceptions, deeply poetic lyricism, and intensely emotional excitement.

Toradze has appeared as soloist with major orchestras in the world, such as the Berlin Philharmonic, London Symphony Orchestra, New York Philharmonic, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Filarmonica della Scala, Orchestra di Santa Cecilia, Mariinsky Orchestra, Israel Philharmonic, NHK Symphony Orchestra. Additionally, he regularly takes part in many summer music festivals including those of Salzburg, the White Nights in St. Petersburg, London’s BBC Proms concerts, Edinburgh, Rotterdam, Mikkeli (Finland), the Hollywood Bowl, Saratoga and Ravinia.

Among his best friends, some of the leading conductors of today such as Valery Gergiev, Esa Pekka Salonen, Jukka Pekka Saraste, Mikko Frank, Neeme, Paavo and Kristjan Järvi, Vladimir Jurowski and Gianandrea Noseda, but also emerging talents such as Daniele Rustioni and Dima Slobodeniouk.

Toradze's recording of all five Prokofiev concertos with Valery Gergiev and the Kirov Orchestra for the Philips label is acclaimed by critics as definitive. His recording of Prokofiev's Piano Concerto No. 3 was named by International Piano Quarterly as "historically the best on record" (from among over seventy recordings). Other highly successful recordings have included Scriabin's Prometheus: The Poem of Fire, with the Kirov Orchestra, Valery Gergiev conducting as well as recital albums of the works of Mussorgsky, Stravinsky, Ravel and Prokofiev for the Angel/EMI label. The recording of both Shostakovich Piano concerti with the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra under Paavo Järvi has been considered by the Frankfurter Allgemeine as an historical achievement of the artist’s career.

Born in Tbilisi (Georgia), Alexander Toradze graduated from the Tchaikovsky Conservatory in Moscow and soon became a professor there. In 1983 he moved permanently to the United States and in 1991 was appointed as the Martin endowed Professor of Piano at the Indiana University South Bend, where he has created a teaching environment that is unparalleled in its unique concept. The members of the multi-national Toradze Piano Studio have developed into a worldwide touring ensemble that has performed projects detailing the piano and chamber works of Rachmaninov, Prokofiev, Dvorak, Stravinsky and Shostakovich in Europe and in the United States. In 2012 the Toradze Piano Studio has realized a revolutionary Radio program by Joseph Horowitz in collaboration with the network WFMT dedicated to Stravinsky and Rachmaninoff: “Russian Accents”.

Alexander Toradze est un virtuose universellement reconnu dans la grande tradition romantique. Ses conceptions interprétatives peu orthodoxes, son lyrisme profondément poétique et son enthousiasme empreint d’une émotion intense ont enrichi le grand patrimoine pianistique russe.

Alexander Toradze a été soliste pour de grands orchestres du monde entier, comme l’Orchestre philharmonique de Berlin, l’Orchestre symphonique de Londres, l’Orchestre philharmonique de New York, l’Orchestre philharmonique de Los Angeles, l’Orchestre philharmonique de la Scala, l’Orchestre de l’Académie nationale Sainte-Cécile, l’Orchestre Mariinsky, l’Orchestre philharmonique d’Israël et l’Orchestre symphonique de la NHK. Il participe en outre régulièrement à de nombreux festivals organisés pendant l’été, comme le Festival de Salzbourg, les Nuits blanches à Saint-Pétersbourg, les concerts BBC Proms à Londres, les festivals d’Edimbourg, Rotterdam et Mikkeli (Finlande), le Hollywood Bowl, le Festival de Saratoga et le Ravinia Festival.

Il compte parmi ses meilleurs amis quelques-uns des plus grands chefs d’orchestre : Valeri Guerguiev, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Jukka-Pekka Saraste, Mikko Franck, Neeme, Paavo et Kristjan Järvi, Vladimir Jurowski et Gianandrea Noseda, mais aussi des talents émergents comme Daniele Rustioni et Dima Slobodeniouk.

Son enregistrement des cinq concertos de Prokofiev avec Valeri Guerguiev et l’Orchestre de Kirov pour le label Philips a été reconnu comme étant décisif par les critiques. International Piano Quarterly a qualifié son enregistrement du Concerto n° 3 de Prokofiev de meilleur enregistrement de tous les temps (parmi plus de 70 enregistrements). L’enregistrement de « Prométhée ou le poème du feu » de Scriabine, avec l’Orchestre de Kirov et Valeri Guerguiev comme chef d’orchestre, ainsi que les albums récitals des œuvres de Moussorgski, Stravinsky, Ravel et Prokofiev pour le label Angel/EMI, font également partie de ses grands succès. L’enregistrement des deux concertos pour piano de Chostakovitch avec l’Orchestre radio-symphonique de Francfort, sons la direction de Paavo Järvi, est considéré par le Frankfurter Allgemeine comme un accomplissement historique dans la carrière de l’artiste.

Né à Tbilissi (Géorgie), Alexander Toradze est rapidement devenu professeur au Conservatoire de Moscou après y avoir obtenu son diplôme. Il s’est installé définitivement aux États-Unis en 1983 puis a été nommé, en 1991, professeur de piano de la Martin Family Fellowship à l’Indiana University South Bend, où il a créé un système d’enseignement basé sur un concept unique. Les membres du Toradze Piano Studio, un ensemble international, se produisent à présent dans le monde entier et jouent la musique de chambre et les œuvres pour piano de Rachmaninoff, Prokofiev, Dvořák, Stravinsky et Chostakovich en Europe et aux États-Unis. En 2012, le Toradze Piano Studio a élaboré un programme radio révolutionnaire de Joseph Horowitz, en collaboration avec la station de radio WFMT, consacré à Stravinsky et Rachmaninoff et intitulé « Russian Accents ».